The Word “Marriage”

Photograph – Tyler McNally

Inkeeping with the theme introduced by the recent Literific Debate on gay marriage, the Gown published opinion pieces on the same topic in the paper edition Monday 17 September. They are republished below.

BY CATHY CORBETT

This debate is about the use of the word “marriage”. Marriage is defined as the union of one man and one woman before God. As a Christian I believe that “marriage” is sacred. When I get married next year I won’t just be promising to love my other half but I will also be making a covenant with my creator, my God, to love my husband, comfort, honour and keep him in sickness and in health, forsaking all others till death do us part. Marriage was designed by God to produce children. There are 2.1 billion Christians in the world and 1.6 billion Muslims, that’s a total of 3.7 billion people; more than half of the world’s population. You cannot discount religious beliefs in regards to the term marriage. The Civil Partnership Act 2004 gave same-sex couples the exact same rights as a married couple in regards to property rights, exemptions on inheritance tax, social security and pension benefits. I personally have no issue with civil partnerships giving couples legal protection.  I believe all non-Christians should be able to have a civil partnership instead of a marriage as defined by God. My questio

n is why are people so v

ehemently trying to offend those of religious beliefs by redefining the term marriage, what more than they already have does the term “marriage” offer same-sex couples?

It saddens me greatly that the church has failed the LGBT community so greatly. We welcome adulterers, murderers and addicts into the church and we hope that they repent and follow Christ, but we have over the decades managed to ostracise the LGBT community, making them feel unwelcome.

I hear you saying that it’s the 21st century and times have changed. Times may have changed but the standards that God expects of us remains the same. This is why the bible is still very relevant today and is the guide for Christian living. Modern society may change but God does not. Romans 12 tells us, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind”. Each age thinks of itself as modern. During the time of the Romans it was accepted practice that a baby was not a real person and could be left in the forest to just die if unwanted. This seems barbaric today, but it was accepted at that time.  Just because the modern thinking changes does not mean that the teachings of my God change.  I will continue to do my Christian duty and show love to those around me. I love my gay friends and I accept that at times life is very hard for them and my advice is always the same, take your troubles to the Lord in prayer and let him renew your mind for he does not turn away from us, we only ever turn away from him.

The views expressed in the above opinion piece are my own and do not represent the views of any organisations I am connected with.

zp8497586rq
zp8497586rq
3 responses to “The Word “Marriage”

  1. First off, marriage is not defined as ” the union of one man and one woman before god”, it is officially defined by those in society and the majority of the educated world, who spend time to research and teach, as “The condition of being a husband or wife; the relation between persons married to each other; matrimony”. Also notice how this states “matrimony” as opposed to “holy matrimony”. However, I expect in response to this statement you would likely, and maybe rightfully, try to tell me that this is a bastardisation of Christian doctrine that deals with marriage. Well, that would be fine if Christianity had invented marriage, but it did not. Some of the earliest recorded marriages (that were in fact called marriages, or “marītāre” as they would have been known) come from as far back as 8th century BCE, and other similar arrangements that hold the same customs as modern day marriages were seen in Ancient Egypt. Again, none of these had anything to do with a god or a religion. In Ancient Rome (where one of the first instances of an engagement ring is seen) people got married to show their eternal love, and the roundness of the ring symbolized this notion of being together for eternity. Marriage was created on the premise of two PEOPLE loving and caring for each other for eternity. Nothing else.
    If you are a Christian, Muslim, Jew, Hindu, or a follower of any other religion that does not support same sex marriage then do not support it. No one is asking you to. Concentrate on the people within your own religion, and leave the rest of us to live our lives. If Christians and Muslims decided by majority rule that they do not want to have same sex marriages in their establishments, then they don’t have to. It would be a terrible breach of human rights if they were forced to. Though, again, I must stress that no religion “invented” marriage, and no religion can dictate who can and can not get married.

    Like

  2. “Marriage was designed by God to produce children” So I guess infertile couples shouldn’t be allowed to get married and marriages which contain a woman who has reached menopause or an old man with a very low sperm count should be dissolved.

    Like

    • Well actually “V” infertile couples can get married. It is only when you personally make the choice as a couple to not have children should a marriage then be reconsidered. If someone can’t physically have children then that is an entirely different matter. I know, odds are I won’t ever conceive.

      Like

Comments are closed.