An Interview with…Lewis Watson

QUESTIONS BY HAYLEY GAULT

Indie pop, self-taught singer/song-writer Lewis Watson speaks to The Gown about touring with Birdy, turning twenty-one and his new album.

When did you first get into music?

I’ve always been around music. My family are a big fan of music, travelling anywhere with my parents we would listen to music like Queen and Bon Jovi. I asked for a guitar on my 16th birthday. I got more into it I guess because I was learning to play it and beginning to appreciate all the work that goes into it.

Who are your biggest influences?

I would say that back then my biggest influence was a guy who’s not that well known, Dallas Green. I spent a lot of my time listening to him. He really shaped how I played guitar and how I write, because I taught myself guitar by learning other people’s songs.

Do you prefer writing or playing live?

I enjoy them both for different reasons. The writing aspect can be very frustrating, there’s times when you are on the road and subconsciously your thinking I need to write a song, I need to write a song, which works negatively I think, just because the best songs I feel are when it just happens and you don’t think about it too much. The live thing is equally as good but for a different reason. You get to meet a load of new people and I’ve played in a few cities I never thought I would go to.

With your 21st birthday coming up, have you got any plans?

I’ve really only just found out I will be in the country so my plan is to just have a day off and spend it with my family I guess. Maybe have a few drinks, but I don’t want to go wild because I’ll be working the next week. My dad actually offered to take my brother to Vegas on his 21st, but I never got the offer!

What has been the highlight of your career so far?

When Birdy asked me to support her on her Australian tour, that was a highlight. It was two weeks on the other side of the world, and she could have just got a local support but she asked me to do it and it meant a lot. We played 3 nights in Sydney opera house and it was just incredible and that wasn’t even the best venue on the tour!

What are your aspirations for the future?

Short term, is just to get this album done, and hope that it resonates with people, that it is the best album I can release right now. Long term, to just keep being able to do it!Finally, any plans to come to Belfast?

I’d love too! We have a couple of times in the past  few years. Hopefully we will be coming back to Ireland soon. I’m a big Guinness drinker! Well…I don’t have a problem, but I’m a big fan and the best Guinness is in Ireland. So hopefully soon!

 

Leave a Reply

