Meet the Candidates: VP Equality and Diversity

Find out a little about the candidates running for VP Equality and Diversity. Voting takes place on QoL next week (3rd-5th March).

Oisín Hassan

Hi! I’m Oisín Hassan, a Postgraduate in the School of Law. If elected your next VP Equality and Diversity I want to see the adoption of Liberation Officers, student campaigning on Marriage Equality, increased awareness around intolerance, and greater integration of our diverse international students. As an LGBT+ activist I’m passionate about the change needed in our society, and I will be a tireless advocate for that change. Marginalised groups should not have to wait any longer for equality, and it is our Students’ Union that can and should lead the fight to achieve it.

You can find his Facebook page here

10307239_898662060153843_500371424687683489_n

Dervla McGaughey

My name is Dervla, I’m a third-year English student, a member of the LGBTQIA+ community and human rights campaigner in Northern Ireland. I aim to be a voice for all students at QUBSU, and promote the wellbeing of marginalised students at the university. Please vote, and let your voice be heard!

You can find their Facebook page here

10406365_885409451501757_6662594502027277665_n

Nicole Quinn

My name is Nicole, I am a PhD student from the School of Sociology and I’m running for VP Equality and Diversity. I have decided to stand for election after representing students in my School and to the PG Forum. I would like to see a University where equality of opportunity is real and available to all students, no matter their background. While I want to represent all students, I would like to improve the student experience of those vulnerable students who are more at risk of dropping out (parents, working-class, disabled) by campaigning to extend the support available.

You can find her Facebook page here

1962799_1551829975075414_677651896966205490_n

Leave a Reply

