Meet the Candidates: VP Welfare

Find out a little about the candidates running for VP Welfare. Voting takes place on QoL next week (3rd-5th March).

Chloe Patterson

Hiya, my name is Chloe Patterson, I have spent the best part of a year as your Vice President for Community, and I see the role of Vice President for Welfare as pivotal for getting what students want. We are in an unprecedented time where there have been threats to student places, rising tuition fees, counselling services being cut and even cuts to the SU officer team itself – I have been there fighting for students every step of the way. However, I feel as though this could be done at an even greater level as VP Welfare.

You can find her Facebook page here

10346540_1401540343486124_8922989404203630285_n

Ellen Haveron

“Helping say farewell to your welfare issues”. I realise that University is tough, so as Welfare officer I want to help ease the stresses and pressure of Uni life. I plan to be more of a presence around campus in order to engage with students and make access to information and support that bit easier. I hope to focus issues relating to housing, health, finance and safety. I want to launch a new ‘Housing’ section on the SU website, introduce workshops against ‘lad culture’ on nights out, suggest new money management strategies and challenge the childcare waiting list.

You can find her Facebook page here

11014979_805579416175194_3024723247555378197_n

Leave a Reply

