A Lump

image

Photo: Ohcare

Ethan McLaughlin


This post originally featured on http://dealingwithtc.blogspot.co.uk/2016/04/a-lump.html


So you think you have cancer, but its your dad’s birthday and the entire weekend is a birthday celebration. What do you do?


So for about two weeks before I went home for Easter, me and my amazing girlfriend promised that we won’t post about this. I noticed that my right testicle was feeling strangely hard. Now I don’t know why this happens and it might just be a me-thing, but when something like that happens, I automatically in my head go to worst-case -scenario. Which I guess considering what the diagnoisis has turned out to be I think helped me to deal with hearing the news. However it did mean my long-time girlfriend had to deal with me constantly talking about my mortality, yes, not fun at all. Never said I was easy to live with. Unfortunately, despite looking to get an appointment, I had the misfortune of, at this point, only having an enlarged testicle. When getting an appointment, before I went home on March 19th, this was pretty difficult. There were also a couple of other issues I had to think about for when I got home.


My dads birthday was the 24th of March and for it, my aunt and uncle where coming from Scotland and Ireland to celebrate. There was also a birthday meal booked, so a lot on. So despite thinking about my enlarged testicle, I had cancer and had that thought in the back of my mind for the last couple of weeks, I decided to mention it to my mum but to not mention it to him or the family as I didn’t want to jump the gun. Especially as I was still really hoping it was something else.


So having failed to get a doctor’s appointment sorted whilst I was still in Belfast, I thankfully managed to get one sorted on the 29th of April, which will be the focused of my next post.

Leave a Reply

