No Better Time Than Now

couple-holding-hand-love-photo-Favim.com-354893

Ethan McLaughlin

This blog originally featured on http://dealingwithtc.blogspot.co.uk/2016/04/no-matter-time-than-now.html

So after getting back from surgery on Saturday, we had decided that the arranged Parents Meeting (my parents meeting her parents) on Sunday, should go ahead. At least they would have one conversation topic.


 

But more importantly, my girlfriend was coming to stay, bearing a lot of chocolate and beer. So yes,I will be staying in this relationship for a while, if the chocolates continue. Well, and her continuing to be great help. Makes me want to see where this is going.


So after a couple  of hours, sitting and talking with them, thankfully everyone seemed to like each other. Or least that was the impression I got.


It was a really nice couple of days with her, just enjoying the quality time I am not sure when we are going to have again. Hopefully, soon, depending on how my results come up –  fingers crossed.


So on Monday I decided now was a good time to put my video up, after giving my parents the heads up to call grandparents ,etc.. What came over the text two days was so much love, which slightly surprised and filled me with something I can’t really put into words. I again want to thank the large number of people  who continue to take the time to message me with supportive messages, whether we know each other well, or just met once at that thing a few years ago, thank you. I am not going to lie, on Monday night, I did slightly tear up.


Although, after a couple of days, your family understandably does begin to tire of comments on Facebook about what an inspiration I am.  Yes, I would say we are a family that tries to not take itself to seriously.


I decided (my girlfriend understandably got tried of me being on my phone given the circumstances, or was I checking my emails – like I said don’t know how see stands it), that I would leave it until my girlfriend had gone back to Belfast before I attempted to answer everyone.


So Tuesday came around and we had some hard goodbyes, but weirdly this was not the worst. I think it says more about how difficult and distant it has been in terms of where we have been on the globe during our relationship, than anything else. Having spent three months (anyone over the age of 35 who has had long term long distant before technology, I know you will be rolling your eyes) in two different continents, excluding the circumstances, a few weeks would be nothing. Especially as we have scheduled Daredevil sessions.


This day was also the first time I met up with people in person, after going public. Despite what you think and what I kind of expected,  people, and my friends especially, allowed me to have a pretty easy, natural conversation.


My next post will begin the next stage of my treatment, in order to establish exactly how much cancer I have.

Published by The Gown Queen's University Belfast

The Gown has provided respected, quality and independent student journalism from Queen's University, Belfast since its 1955 foundation, by Dr. Richard Herman. Having had an illustrious line of journalists and writers for almost 70 years, that proud history is extremely important to us. The Gown is consistent in its quest to seek and develop the talents of aspiring student writers.

Leave a comment